Noosa Weekend

This weekend T whisked me up the coast to Noosa for the final installment of my birthday surprises! We woke up super early on Saturday only to be greeted with dark skies and stormy weather. Not to be deterred, we got on the road and made it through the torrential rain only to arrive to blue skies and sunshine in Noosa!


We made a quick pit stop for a juice at Aroma’s and then headed straight to the beach to catch some rays. The weather was beautiful and perfect for swimming. Next up was the mandatory Betty’s Burgers – if you haven’t been, you need to go! I had my usual chicken burger while T had the classic and we shared some onion rings.



The weather took a turn for the worse after lunch, so we sought refuge at the Surf Club. 3 glasses of sparkling later, we wove our way back down Hastings St and to our accommodation – the Sofitel Noosa Resort.


After freshening up and enjoying the room it was time for a few more drinks (I was on my holidays ok…) so we went and sampled some of the cocktails at Locale. My absolute fave was the Locale Passion – passionfruity and caramelly, sounds weird but it was incredible. Later on we went to Miss Moneypenney’s for a casual dinner of pizza, salad and calamari, delish!


Sunday morning saw us up with the larks and desperate for an epic brekky. There’s only one place in Noosa that fits the bill – Bistro C. We arrived bang on opening and only just survived the mob rushing in to get the perfect table! We still managed to nab a table with wonderful ocean views.


After pigging out, we went back to the hotel for a little nap, before going down for a swim in the beautiful pool. But not for long as we had very special lunch reservations to get ready for!




T had booked a beautiful table at Sails right on the beach, it was probably the most picturesque setting I’ve ever seen, and the food was to die for. We started with Laurent-Perrier (for me) and cold beer (for him) and sat just marveling at the view and the perfect weather.


For starters we had the duck arancini (swoon) and a mix of oysters.


For the main course I opted for the pancetta wrapped Moreton Bay bugs which came with olive oil mashed potato, butter beans, and fetta dressing – it was just divine. T had the coral sea trout on crushed dutch cream potatoes and spring vegetables which was also delicious.


After dutifully perusing the dessert menu, I had no choice but to order the white chocolate panna cotta with rhubarb, coconut, marshmallow, and lemon curd, oh my. Truly an epic dish!


The setting was beyond beautiful, the service impeccable, the wine list fabulous, and the food was so so good. I highly recommend a visit but you will definitely need to book in advance – http://www.sailsnoosa.com.au/.


3 courses and 3 glasses of wine later, T had to pretty much roll me back to the car. It was an incredible weekend which will take some topping, but I’m sure he’s up for the challenge…

Leave a comment